top of page

Reviewing Netflix's I'M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS


I'M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS, a new Netflix film directed by Charlie Kaufman, based upon the novel by Iain Reid, is, in many ways, the ultimate "unreliable narrator" film, surpassing FIGHT CLUB, to a degree. Though, I don't consider FC the benchmark for that literary/storytelling device, rather it felt similar since the main characters in both films are the same person, despite appearing to be separate entities.

About halfway through the film, I realized "Lucy" wasn't the main character, though Kaufman had forced that perspective on the audience as a misdirection.

Some of the more truthful moments for Jake came from his/the disillusioned recollections of his father, the speech about time and dementia being the most "realistic" moment of the character's overall disillusionment. It was a moment in which I could distinguish the character was talking for someone, rather than about himself.

The seemingly disparate moments from the stage play OKLAHOMA, dancing teen in the high school hallways, a dog shaking rain off its back perpetually, the unrelenting blizzard only snowing on the car, are all fragmentations of moments in Jake's life; his means of coping with isolation due to memory loss, reaching their fever pitch, hallucinations as much as memories, in a way.

I went through a series of trials from awe, to anger, to sadness, and indifference, and all of those feelings combined helped inform a strong bond with the movie to my sensibilities as a writer and director.

But, damn, do I never want to sit through those bloated, volumetrically over-worded car rides ever again. The benchmark for any film, in terms of my endearment toward a film, is whether or not I feel like i can watch it again.

I don't know that I can watch I'M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS again. And, maybe with time, I'll forget why I couldn't seem to enjoy the movie.

 THE CAM MAnifest: 

 

Canted Angle Media (Everything Relatively Applicable) is the brainchild of Jed Nichols. As a cinematographer, director, writer and actor, Jed's passion for art finds itself most drawn toward the world of narrative filmmaking. On this site, Jed shares stories from his adventures as a short film creator, purveyor of the arts, and reviews of popular films and other artistic mediums. 

 FOLLOW Canted Angle Media: 
RSS Feed
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
bottom of page